The West Virginia Legislature passed several laws that regulate hearing aid dealers. These laws impose several duties upon hearing aid dealers. First, all hearing aid dealers must have a license to sell hearing aids in West Virginia. This license must be clearly displayed in any office that sells hearing aids. Second, a dealer cannot sell a hearing aid unless she has a note from a physician stating that the hearing aid is needed. You are allowed to waive this right if you are over 18 years old. However, it is highly recommended that you do not waive this protection. If you think you need a hearing aid, first check with a physician.
Third, when you buy a hearing aid, the dealer must give you a receipt. The receipt must state that you can return the hearing aid in 30 days if you have any problems. All hearing aid purchases must have this 30-day return policy. If you have a problem with the hearing aid, and then the dealer adjusts it, you have 30 more days from the time of the adjustment.
Hearing aid dealers are not allowed to engage in false or deceptive advertising. In addition, they cannot advertise for mail-order hearing aids or make it seem like they are doctors if they aren’t. If you feel that the hearing aid dealer committed a violation you may contact the West Virginia Board of Hearing Aid Dealers at:
WV Board of Hearing Aid Dealers Phone: 1 (304) 558-3527
703 Peoples Building Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
179 Summers Street
Charleston, WV 25301
For more information, see: W. Va. Code §§ 30-26-1 to -20 (2015).